Hidden In Plain Sight (And I bet You’ve Never Seen It)

I’m a transplant. And when relocating to a new city everything is fresh, exciting. Nothing goes unnoticed to a new, excited eye. Since moving to Houston, Texas in February, I have come to realize that Texas, Houston, is a little different, and a little similar to California, San Francisco, where I moved from. I’ll explain my previous long, compound sentence later. But for the time being know that Houston does have a public art scene that is live and well. But here’s where it gets interesting, in order to really experience the public art scene you must all ready live in the neighborhood, travel to a specific area frequently, or keep your eyes open while out driving around the city. There’s graffiti, sculptures, murals, art cars, and paintings large and small. But there’s another form of public art. And I bet if you live in the Houston area you’ve never seen them. And, if you have noticed, you may have never thought of who painted them and why.

Drive on any causeway, or interstate in the greater Houston area. Along most every retaining wall is the shape of Texas embossed in the concrete blocks. I know you’ve seen them. As you drive by look closer. Some are blank while others have small murals painted inside them. Being new to Houston, a documentary photographer, and genuinely curious in nature, these caught my attention. Who were painting these and why. The more I explored, the more I looked, the more I found. All different yet all painted utilizing the same style. I began my search for an answer.

I’ve done a lot of digging, research and asking questions. I have finally found out who’s doing these and why. I’m currently in the process of interviewing the person. So please stay tuned for the next post which will feature the interview—answering the who, what, when, where, why, and how. Until then check out the gallery in this post of some these amazing murals. And if you haven’t noticed them yet. I bet you start seeing them everywhere now.

Leave a Reply

