My early days with a camera

These photographs begin to make up a 12 year project of documenting the abandoments of the high desert communities of Palmdale& Lancaster, california, my home town. They were shot with tri-X film, and various color films, from 1991 to 2003. I first started this as a junior in high school, taking my first photography class at the local junior college. This is where I first discovered documentary photography and urban exploration. I will be uploading more as I scan the negs.


Many of these buildings no longer exist, bull dozed, or in many cases burned down by arsonists or partying teenagers. So is the nature of the desert. It is a forever changing environment.


http://www.flickr.com/photos/andrehermann/sets/72157606670907962/

Leave a Reply

